The Liturgy of the Hours (also known as the Divine Office) is the official daily prayer of the Catholic Church. Priests, Deacons and religious are obligated to pray the Liturgy of Hours daily. Increasingly the laity are joining in this beautiful prayer.

In praying the Liturgy of the Hours one is praying with the Universal Church. Each of the seven canonical "hours," prayed at specific times each day, is made up of Psalms, readings from Sacred Scripture, hymns and prayers.

The most important of these hours are the "hinge" hours of Morning and Evening Prayer. The other hours are the Office of Readings, Mid-Morning, Midday, Mid-afternoon and Night Prayer.

Time of the DayTypeOfficial Name (Latin)
3amDuring the NightMatins
6amMorning PrayerLauds
9amMid-Morning PrayerTerce
12nnMidday PrayerSext
3pmMid-afternoon PrayerNone
6pmEvening PrayerVespers
9pmNight PrayerCompline

Together with the Mass, the Liturgy of Hours constitutes the official public prayer life of the Church. For more info on Liturgy of the Hours, please click here.

SMOTA prays Lauds every morning during the morning Mass. If you are interested in joining this ministry in leading the community in prayer, please contact Friar Esmond Chua at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.