hoursThe Liturgy of the Hours (also known as the Divine Office) is the official daily prayer of the Catholic Church. Priests, Deacons and religious are obligated to pray the Liturgy of Hours daily. Increasingly the laity are joining in this beautiful prayer.


In praying the Liturgy of the Hours one is praying with the Universal Church. Each of the seven canonical "hours," prayed at specific times each day, is made up of Psalms, readings from Sacred Scripture, hymns and prayers.


The most important of these hours are the "hinge" hours of Morning and Evening Prayer. The other hours are the Office of Readings, Mid-Morning, Midday, Mid-afternoon and Night Prayer.


Time of the Day Type Official Name (Latin)
3am During the Night Matins
6am Morning Prayer Lauds
9am Mid-Morning Prayer Terce
12nn Midday Prayer Sext
3pm Mid-afternoon Prayer None
6pm Evening Prayer Vespers
9pm Night Prayer Compline


Together with the Mass, the Liturgy of Hours constitutes the official public prayer life of the Church. For more info on Liturgy of the Hours, please click here.


SMOTA prays Lauds every morning during the morning Mass. If you are interested in joining this ministry in leading the community in prayer, please contact Friar Esmond Chua at esmond@stmary.sg 



Youth & Young Adult Adult & Family life

Getting Here


Nearest MRT Station: Bukit Batok

By Bus:

Linkway Entrance:
Buses along Bukit Batok East Ave 6: 61, 66, 157, 174, 178, 852

Main Entrance:
Buses along Bukit Batok East Ave 2: 970, 985

By Car:

Click here for details on parking

Go to top